Preserving our freedom to collect


The Ancient Coin Collectors Guild has become a driving force in the ongoing effort to protect coin collectors and museums in which coins are stored from being forced to give up these items to foreign governments under the premise the coins are the cultural patrimony of the claimant nation. — Richard Giedroyc, World Coin News April 26, 2010



Get the Latest News!

ACCG Donation

Support ancient coin collecting today!

All news

Deadline nears for ACCG Board nominees

Nominations for election to the ACCG Board of Directors will close on February 15.

February 04, 2006

The bylaws of the ACCG outline rules by which the charter Board of Directors (appointed by the founder of the guild) will become an elected board. The specific section states:

"Transition rules. Three of the directors, to be determined by lottery, whose terms began on the date of incorporation of this guild, will serve until the Biennial Board Meeting in the summer of 2006. The other four Directors whose terms began on the date of incorporation of this guild will serve until the Biennial Board Meeting in the summer of 2008."

On November 15, 2005, Jorg Lueke and Larry Gaye were appointed to a special membership committee for the purpose of overseeing the 2006 election. Both Lueke and Gaye are leaders of ACCG Affiliate Member Organizations. The lottery to determine which seats on the present board would expire at this time was held publicly at a Twin Cities Ancient Coin Club meeting in Minneapolis. As a result of that lottery, the expiring seats are those presently held by Bill Puetz, Peter K. Tompa and David Vagi.

All members in good standing as of February 15, 2006 are eligible for nomination in the general election which will close on April 15. Any member may nominate themselves or others, up to five persons each, for election. Nominations or questions should be sent by e-mail to or to the guild Secretary, Wayne G. Sayles at P.O. Box 911, Gainesville, MO 65655.

Ballots for the election will be mailed to all members of good standing no later than March 15, 2005 and the election will close on April 15, 2005. Newly elected board members will be installed at the ACCG Biennial Meeting in Denver, Colorado on Aug 19, 2006.

david vagi
larry gaye
biennial meeting
bill puetz
jorg lueke
peter k. tompa

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Add a comment
  1. Formatting options